Department Chairs

Richard Kieburtz 1969 to 1975
Aaron Finerman 1975 to 1977
Jack Heller 1977 to 1984
Arthur Bernstein 1984 to 1986
David Smith 1986 to 1987
Phil Lewis 1987 to 1996
David Warren 1996 to 1999
Arie Kaufman 1999 - 2017
Samir Das 2017 - Present


In Fond Memories of Dick Kieburtz, CS Founder and Former ChairmanIn March'14 at a memorial service in Oregon, friends and colleagues gathered to celebrate the life of Dick Kieburtz. David Smith, a former Chair of the CS department, and John Hennessy a former student and now president of Stanford, share their reflections.

In Fond Memories of David R. Smith, CS Founder and Former Chairman - It is with great sadness that the Department of Computer Science reports the loss of Dr. David R. Smith, Professor Emeritus of Computer Science. David, an active member and founder of the department, passed away August 29, 2015.