CEAS Celebrates CS Faculty

CEAS Celebrates CS Faculty Six faculty in the Department of Computer Science were honored during the 2022 College of Engineering and Applied Sciences (CEAS) State of the College Address. The department is proud of the following faculty who were recognized with awards for their research, diversity, and leadership efforts:

Dean’s Millionaire Club
For demonstrating leadership in securing over $1,000,000 in research funding in 2021 – 2022, the following computer science faculty are once again members of the Millionaire Club:

H. Andrew Schwartz – Schwartz’s project, Developing and Evaluating Artificial Intelligence-based Longitudinal Assessments of PTSD in 9/11 Responders, received $2,383,030 from the Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

R. Sekar - Sekar was recognized for his National Science Foundation (NSF) award, WebSheets: A New Privacy-Centric Framework for Web Applications. Along with Co-PIs I.V. Ramakrishnan and Scott Stoller, he received $1,019,291 in funding for this security research project.

Dimitris Samaras – Samaras’ project, Information Super-Resolution for Very Large Images earned $1,129,040 in funding from the NSF. This is a campus collaborative effort with Co-PIs Heather Lynch and Raj Gupta.

Inaugural CEAS Awards
Aruna Balasubramanian - An associate professor for the Department of Computer Science, Balasubramanian received the Diversity Leadership Award.

Kevin McDonnell – McDonnell serves as the undergraduate program director as well as a professor of practice. He received the Excellence in Faculty Award.

C.R. Ramakrishnan – An alumnus of the department and the graduate program director, C.R. Ramakrishnan received the Excellence in Faculty Award.