Chairman's Message

Welcome to the Computer Science Department at Stony Brook University!

Through our doors you will find a Department filled with faculty, staff, and students committed to excellence and success.

Whether you are an incoming student, a potential new faculty member, or a collaborator, you will work side-by-side with a passionate, talented group of computer scientists.

Established in 1969, the Computer Science Department is consistently ranked among the top 20 computer science research departments in the nation.

The Department boasts internationally renowned faculty who have been awarded the highest levels of recognition, and have made significant contributions in visual computing, computer systems, cyber-security, networking, algorithms, intelligent computing, and verification.

In 2014, we are looking forward to occupying our new state-of-the-art, 70,000 square feet Computer Science building, which will complement our Center of Excellence in Wireless and Information Technology, with its 100,000 square feet of applied IT research labs.

As you explore our department website, I know that you will gain a sense of the innovative research and education, professional service, and technology transfer conducted by our diverse community, in a unique interdisciplinary culture and collegial atmosphere.


Arie E. Kaufman
Distinguished Professor and Chairman