Google Faculty Research Awards for Bi and Orabona


Each year, Google announces an open call for PhD students and faculty at accredited universities to submit computer science research proposals. Selected researchers gain the opportunity to work hand-in-hand with Google researchers and engineers to develop their research. 

Nature Methods details new tool that powers gene expression studies


Rob Patro, assistant professor of computer science, leads team that develops lightweight method that provides fast and bias-aware quantification from RNA-seq reads

For a team of computational biological researchers from the Department of Computer Science (CS) at Stony Brook University, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill, Harvard School of Public Health, Carnegie Mellon School of Computer Science, and private industry, creating a tool that is ultra-fast and improves the accuracy of abundance estimates proved to be a challenge that spanned several years, and several funding sources.